Friday, April 5, 2013

NYHAVN – The harbor

NYHAVN – The harbor

Nyhavn "New Port" was established by King Frederik V (1646-1699 - ruled Denmark and Norway 1670–99) in 1670-73 as a gateway from the sea to the old inner city and at that time the canal area reached right up to the Kongens Nytorv (Kings Square), where the ships unloaded their cargo and the fishermen their daily catch. The trade and shipping activities around Nyhavn provide a strong growth of Copenhagen and the many houses surrounding the Nyhavn canal along the two quays are more than 300 years old.

Mansions for the wealthy
In the beginning of the 1700s and on the shady side of Nyhavn, great mansions like Charlottenborg and other lavish houses with flats for the wealthy citizens were built. On the sunny side the houses were built of wood, brick and plaster and were the most colorful and picturesque house at Nyhavn rented by poor and common residents.

Old wooden ships
Up through the 1970s, Nyhavn has become a fashionable place to live and the quay is turned into a pedestrian street and the canal is packed with old wooden ships creating an atmosphere from the past time around 1780-1810 when Nyhavn was the main centre of all trade to sea from Copenhagen.
Every 30 min. there are boat tours from Nyhavn around the harbour area and canals to historical sights and known places.
Restaurants and cafés alongside the quay overlooking the canal with its old wooden ships and special maritime atmosphere.

Picturesque old houses
Nyhavn with its picturesque old houses on either side of the canal offers a variety of restaurants, pubs, cafés with dancing and music - 24 hours a day. Nyhavn is also called "The longest outdoor bar in Scandinavia" - with its many restaurants and cafés overlooking the canal.

Hans Christian Andersen and Nyhavn
The famous fairy-tale writer Hans Christian Andersen lived in no. 20, from 1834-38, where he wrote his first stories. Later he also lived on the opposite - sunny side of Nyhavn in no. 67 - from 1845-64. The last years of his life he lived in no.18.

House no. 20 at Nyhavn on the shady side was where H. C. Andersen lived from 1834-38. The famous fairy tale writer also lived on the sunny side of Nyhavn in no. 67 from 1845-64.
There is always plenty of activity around Nyhavn and especially on the square with the monument of the Memorial Anchor from 1872 in front of the entrance to canal and harbour area.

The Memorial Anchor at Nyhavn
The great Memorial Anchor (Mindeankeret) in front of Nyhavn is a monument commemorating the more than 1,700 Danish officers and sailors in service for the Navy - merchant fleet or Allied forces, who offered their life's during the Second World War. The Anchor was inaugurated in 1951 and has a plague with a monogram of King Frederik VII on it. The Memorial Anchor is from 1872 and was used on the Frigate Fyn (Funen) - which was docked at Holmen Naval Base during the Second World War. The Memorial Anchor replaced a momentary big wooden Cross erected on the same spot in 1945. Every year on May 5th – Denmark’s Liberation day 1945 - an official ceremony is held to honor and commemorate the fallen at the Memorial Anchor.



No comments:

Post a Comment